Perspective

Last night after I put Boo to bed, I felt so guilty. I was angry with him when I said goodnight, and I couldn’t get over his little voice calling me a mean mommy. I knew I should stand my ground, but it was killing me. After an hour of sitting there listening to him whimper, my stomach was so heavy it could have been filled with depleted uranium.

So I broke.

I snuck into his room and lifted him out of his crib so I could bring him into the bed with me in the master bedroom. When I laid him down, his eyes fluttered open and he smiled at me.

“I’m so sorry I yelled at you, Boo. I love you so much,” I said.

“I farted,” he said.

*****

Some time later, I was pretending to be asleep so that Boo would get the idea and finally settle down. My eyes were closed, so I couldn’t see him, but I felt him put his little nose right next to mine. “Mommy? Are you asweepin?” He asked. I didn’t answer. “It’s okay, mama. You go asweep. I’m here.”

And then he kissed me on the forehead, grabbed Bun, and snuggled up next to me. He sighed once and was still.

I know he couldn’t see me, but I was smiling. It didn’t matter that I’d been so angry earlier. He had already forgiven me. This, I thought to myself, is really what it’s all about.

And when I dreamed, I didn’t dream about mini giraffes. I dreamed about watching Boo chase birds around a big open field. It was a good dream.

*****

If you enjoyed this post, please consider ‘liking’ Three Ring Mom on Facebook! You can check it out here. Every time a new post is published, a notification will show up in your news feed.

Thank you!

About Chelsie

Mommy. Beauty product whore. Plastic lawn flamingo enthusiast. Nosy neighbor. One day novelist.
This entry was posted in Boo, The Month of Blogging Dangerously and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perspective

  1. kate says:

    there is NOTHING sweeter than your baby comforting you for a change. love this *sniffle*
    making me smile at my own little guy and, well, kinda thankful that his windmill sleeping style pretty much prevented him from ever sleeping in our bed LOL

    enjoy and encourage the snuggles!!!

    • Chelsie says:

      It was a pretty awesome moment. It’s really too bad that I had to physically remove him from the bed later that night because I feared I wake up with internal bleeding from all his ninja kicks.

Leave a Reply

