Come hither, minions…

Whether you like it or not, you’re a voyeur.

Yes, you. Sitting there in your bathrobe, drinking your cup of coffee. You, who live in Bumblephuck, Nowhere, and belong to the PTA. You, who drive a minivan and have obligations that sound helluva lot like ‘soccer practice’ and ‘rotary’.

Or you there, with your tattoos and a ridiculous final exam schedule. You, with the fantastic internship in San Fransisco this summer. You, whom everyone thought would never make it in the real world (until you ran up and kicked the real world in the ass.)

Whichever.

You’re ALL voyeurs.

A blog is like a little window into another person’s life. Reading one is the internet’s version of being that creepy dude sitting in the park ‘birdwatching’ with your telephoto lens. You know, without all the negative connotations and flashy police light interruptions.

And if you write for a blog, you’re really no better. You’ve got an exhibitionist side trying to claw its way out from the deep, twisty confines of your black soul. You get a little tingle in your bathing suit parts when someone ‘likes’ your post, and if someone leaves a comment… It’s like a little piece of heaven. Or a large margarita. You pick your poison.

I’ve been lurking on a couple of ‘big’ blogs lately trying to get a feel for what makes them so successful. Number one, of course, is the quality of content presented, but a close second (I think) is the sense of community the readers feel when they visit the page.

To me, it seems like the readers have some sort of connection with the writer. Whether it’s because (s)he is an infamous oversharer who makes everyone else feel just a lee-tle bit less crazy, or because the writer documents every single moment of their life with an appropriately hipster Instagram photo from their iPhone, readers just seem to get it. Like every post is sprinkled with fairy dust or some shit like that.

Whatever it is, I want that kind of community.

So that’s where all of you come in. I want to add another page to the Three Ring Mom homepage that pays homage to you guys. You not-so-anonymous people who make this whole blogging machine click. My minions, in other words.

If you want to be added to the Three Ring Mom “Minions!” page, leave a comment or shoot me an e-mail (threeringmom@gmail.com) with your name, URL, and short message about what you write about. I’ll review each submission, and if it passes my test (read: your content is not about fisting donkeys or something messed up like that), I’ll add your page.

It’ll be like one of those big hippie communes from the seventies, except with showers. And less weed.

So go forth, my minions. Go forth and multiply.

About Chelsie

Mommy. Beauty product whore. Plastic lawn flamingo enthusiast. Nosy neighbor. One day novelist.
This entry was posted in Internetland, Would it kill you to comment? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Come hither, minions…

  1. melsar93 says:

    Because I am currently procrastinating my own blog it looks like I get to be first. I’ve been stalking you reading your blog for a few weeks now and find it hilarious. I have my own little blog called the Mike/Mitch project wherein I am blogging and cooking my way through Mitch Omer’s Cookbook Damn Good Food. Since Mitch wrote the cookbook I am the Mike in this project. Please consider me as one of your minions. As an official minion I promise that I will not be the insignificant cog which ruins your plans for world domination. At least not on purpose.

    mikenmitch.wordpress.com

    • Chelsie says:

      Done, and done. I was a huge fan of the Julie/Julia project when it was just a teeny tiny little point and click in internetland, so your blog is right up my alley. No promises on when the page will go up, but hopefully it will be within the next day or so.

      And thanks for stalking me. You know, as long as it’s totally platonic and I don’t start getting mail at my home address that contains human hair or some kind of creepy shit like that.

      • melsar93 says:

        What is this Julie/Julia you speak of?

        ( I kid of course, but inflection is so hard to get across on the intertubes so now I have to admit I was kidding which makes it less funny.)

        No creepy shit. Got it.

  2. Rhi says:

    Such an awesome idea! I discovered you when you were freshly pressed (quite often its full of nonsense that doesn’t interest me but I’m still reading with you, so kudos!) would love to be added! I recently moved from England to Malta with one suitcase, no job, flat or money, and my blog is basically about how I am making it work. Perhaps not of much interest to anyone who has never expatriated themselves but hey, sometimes I talk about muffins and everyone likes muffins.

    I actually have a blogroll too and I’m pretty sure you’re already on mine!

  3. Rhi says:

    Oh yea.. and blog link…

    joeandharryabroad.wordpress.com

  4. mairedubhtx says:

    I enjoy your writing and your blog (loved the photo of the cat and my little ponies). My blog has gotten me into more trouble than I can explain. Somehow my old private blog got linked into my current blog and it has some not so nice things about my daughter, who is wild. Obsessed about it. So in order to write what I want and feel i have had to set up another blog and try to move my blogging to it. The old blog is mairedughtx.wordpress.com and the new one is fatimadms1949.wordpress.com. I usually blog about life and try to deal with the crazy World Press prompts, sometimes successfully.

  5. mairedubhtx says:

    That was mairedubhtx.wordpress.com. I am not all there.

  6. Ha! I just had a conversation with my sister-in-law about how all bloggers are exhibitionists who want people to read, follow, and comment on their posts. Me included.

    So in the interest of exhibitionism: itonlylookslikeimincharge.tumblr.com.

    Expect to find an unfortunate view of the inside of my head, ridiculous things my toddler does/says/makes me do, and highly opinionated rants about open adoption.

  7. Sarah says:

    I’m totally a minion! I think you’re hilarious!

    I’m a knitting blogger for the most part, sharing my projects and connecting with other knitters and crafters. Secretly I wish I was as open as you and I would curse and talk about the crazy that is University, but I’m just not quite that eloquent. And I’m pretty sure that my real name is linked in somewhere so I’m scared a future job may find it. lol

    oh! I’m at http://studentknitter.blogspot.com

    Hope you like!
    Sarah

  8. Thanks for this opportunity! Here’s my blog and what I’m about.

    http://www.CrazieTown.com

    I love to tell stories about my crazy experiences, most of which involve my family. I am one of eight children brought up in a loud, loving, obnoxious, Catholic (surprised?) family. We grew up in a tiny house planted in the middle of a 500 acre farm owned by my grandpa.

    I live in the Midwest, not far from the farm, with my husband, John, and a big, lazy dog named Lola. John and I have a blended family of two boys and two girls, all grown and on their own. At this point, not many of my stories involve them — so you’re safe kids (at least for now.)

    Most people will tell you I am a control freak but I prefer the term “Well-Organized.” I am always surprised to learn that not everyone keeps their closets color coded and yet, I’ve been known to let my dishes stack up to dangerous heights.

    To quote my husband, “Living with you is like riding a roller coaster without being strapped in.” So, if you’re ready for a wild ride, come for a visit to Crazie Town. You’ll be surprised how much fun it can be.

  9. One Cocktail Away says:

    Hi Three Ring Mom! I’m One Cocktail Away 🙂 I really enjoy your blog, and can surely relate!

    I had a blog about my love of escaping reality with a strong cocktail after the kiddos are in bed (http://onecocktailaway.wordpress.com/), but since I haven’t been in the mood to party much recently, I started one to track my marriage to a police officer and all the fun and games That brings – http://bluelitespecial.wordpress.com/

    I’m new to blogging and have enjoyed that sense of community you mentioned…keep up the good work!

    yvonne

  10. Sandy says:

    Heck, Chelsie, I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now, and even have your link as one of the favorites on my site (I’ve been watching, people are grabbing that link!), and I just love how you say it like it is. What do I blog about? Me, my life, my family, life in the Northwoods of WI. Nothing special, and nothing big, just having fun doing it and getting the feedback that I do. I can so relate to the blogging experience when you get feedback on what you have posted! When I get people telling me that they love what I write and the pics that I post, it’s the best feeling in the world. So, if you want to add my site http://sandyrooney.com to your new page, that would be very cool. The more the blogging community supports each other, the better we get 🙂

  11. Jean C. says:

    Well, Chelsie, you have been to my blog and I love visiting yours. My little square of exhibitionism is http://shadowcatsview.blogspot.com .

    I usually write about whatever tickles my fancy or trips my trigger, or even whatever pets my peeve. Sundays I write about my mother and her insanity. On Wednesdays I now host battles in which I take two very different things and compare them. I try to do it all with humor, and I would be honored to be your minion! 🙂

  12. niek1928 says:

    Hi – As your ‘About’ says: I fall (a lot), I say: eat a lot of calcium.

    I don’t really believe the lot of falling, please do believe my suggestion

    Done your season-cleaning BTW? – Be strong Chelsie – greetz – Niek

    • Chelsie says:

      Unfortunately, no. I’m afraid to do it while my son is home, so Red and I are waiting until we have a night alone. In case we piss something off, ya know?

  13. jacqui says:

    Your commune seems really strict…why less weed??

    • Chelsie says:

      Eh, it’s not that strict. As much as I would like to sit around eating Doritos and contemplating the meaning of string (as in the fiber, not the theory)… I’ve got shit that needs to be done, lol.

  14. kate says:

    im late to the party but wanted to add that i also tend to lurk and read and occasionally comment and i LOVE this idea!!
    i suppose this means i should post once in a while? i wont be offended if you dont list me since um i am so very sporadic! http://swoopyloopy.com

    🙂

Leave a Reply

