I <3 New York

Y’all, this post is probably going to alienate some of you out there. Or maybe it will bring others in. Either way, I don’t really care. I usually try to keep my mouth shut about things like this, but tonight I just can’t help myself.

All I want to say is this: today, we moved one step further toward equality. The New York state Senate passed a bill legalizing gay marriage and it landed on Governor Andrew Cuomo’s desk with a promised signature.

I can’t explain how happy this makes me.

I’m not gay. No one in my family is gay, but I do have many gay friends. My personal interest in this matter lies in the fact that I believe that a world with more love is beautiful place. People are people, and love is love.

Way to go, New York. It’s a step in the right direction.

(Now if the rest of the nation could get its shit together, eh?)

About Chelsie

Mommy. Beauty product whore. Plastic lawn flamingo enthusiast. Nosy neighbor. One day novelist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Would it kill you to comment? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to I <3 New York

  1. I am a straight, middle-aged (but still hot) married mom who is with you all the way. I have a lot of religious kin who are sane and lovely people except they believe the gays will burn in hellfire. Thank you religion for that (and for most of the wars in the history of man). I ask them if they think people will burn in hellfire for having blue eyes, or a short penis, or three nipples? They say no. Then I tell them “homosexuality is not a choice, just ask Lady Gaga – they’re born that way!” Take the message to the streets mamacita.

    • Chelsie says:

      Amen! Why would a person choose to be gay if they knew it was going to make their life harder? It would be like choosing to take a ball peen hammer and knock yourself in the temple every time you had a sexual thought. I DON’T THINK SO.

  2. Sarah says:

    I have a mother and a brother who are both gay (and living in Canada), but the idea that in most states they are less than equal always pisses me off. Way to go NY!

    • Chelsie says:

      I know, right? It’s like if we replaced the word ‘gay’ with the word ‘black’ or ‘developmentally disabled’ would this even be an issue? Nope. Because people in those groups are just people. Those of the religious variety would argue that your skin color or intellectual capacity at birth are decisions made by God Himself, so there’s no way it could be a bad thing. But being gay? They’ll tell you that’s a choice made by the individual and not by their definition of God. The logic is so cyclical that it makes me head spin.

  3. niek1928 says:

    Hi!
    @ The Woman Formerly Known as Beautiful – Is three nipples a combination with Three Ring Mom, meaning 3 rings tinkling on each of the three? What about 3 times a <3?

    Back to you Chelsie. It happened my hotmail send me, as a trailer for this item, a shorter text ending with: "All I want to say is this: today, we moved […]"

    Oh, I was happy. In the end you moved to another house. Thus leaving the house where you needed a spring cleaning. Yep, I can't forget that story… – BTW Later on I figured then that blog only was fiction, and the haunted situation only a spin-off from your brain ha ha. [Please send me a message about it, I certainly admire your art of writing. Was it a true story? Yes or No.)

    This post ends: "its shit together, eh?". How many people will take the broom for it? Ha, this needs a new religion!

    Fack Dutchman, learn English.

    • Chelsie says:

      Haha, we’re still living in the same house. And yes, everything I’ve written about our little visitor is true. Despite our best efforts, he/she/it does not seem inclined to move out. The more we talk about it, the more the activity ramps up. Thankfully though, most of it is benign, like having lights turned on and off and making toys turn on when we’re not around. I think it is just saying, “Hi! I’m here. I want to play.” At least, I hope it is. We’re still looking for a house, but everything in our area is very expensive and we’re very picky home-buyers. So it’s probably in our best interest to make good friends with Casper while we’re still living here.

  4. Kay Bee says:

    “People are people, and love is love.”

    I couldn’t have said it better myself!

    • Chelsie says:

      I’m pretty freaking excited that my readers are so like-minded. There’s enough hatred in this world. I don’t understand why people get so up in arms about two men or two women wanting to live together and love together. Gay people are human effing beings for God’s sake, just like you and me and (presumably) Sarah Palin. It’s not like they hopped out of bed one day and decided, ‘hmmm,I think I’ll be gay so I can make my life harder.’

      At least, I think Sarah Palin is a human. I so have my suspicions that she’s actually one of those lizard people militant whackjobs living in the mountains with lots of guns and goats sometimes talk about.

  5. Okay, gay people in NY, congratulations! Now, you can do it , too! Good.
    Do not complain that marriage is hard, husbands do not pull their share,wives let themselves go and that parenting sucks. πŸ™‚

    Seriously, congratulations!

  6. So glad to read your post!

    My cell phone only gives me a few sentences at a time and when I read the first sentence I thought, “Crap! I’m going to have to cancel by subscription because she hates gay people.” But, no! You totally came through for me. I am working with a group in my suburban midwest town to say it’s time for us straight people to come out of the closet and stand up for our gay friends’ rights.

    You are one brave chick!

    • Chelsie says:

      The only people I hate are those ignorant enough to be unwilling to even listen to the other side of an argument. I don’t care if you’re black, white, blue, yellow, or red (or gay, straight, into sheep, whatev) if your head is inserted so far up your own rectum that you can’t even listen to another person’s opinion, then we’ve got a problem.

  7. meridith says:

    I love your blog and have been reading for a few months. It nearly brings me to tears when straight families accept my own family – complete with two moms and a one year old. Although I’m in the ultra conservative state of Virginia with no plans to move, things like New York – and this post – give me hope. Thank you.

    • Chelsie says:

      To me, a family is a family. When a child gets love, it shouldn’t matter if it comes from a mom/dad, a mom/mom, a dad/dad, etc. I have gay friends who are trying to navigate the adoption process–in Texas of all places–and it breaks my heart when people look at them and think that they couldn’t be good parents just because they’re both dudes. Like I said, a world with more love is a good place. Let’s multiply it, not keep it apart.

  8. Michelle says:

    My first thought when I read the news about New York was “Six down, 44 to go.” πŸ™‚

  9. Yay for this post! and for you posting it πŸ™‚ I hope more states follow. I am originally from Vermont, and think it was time NY passed this bill. My sister is a lesbian and she and her wife are two of the best mothers I have ever met. And their son is the sweetest kiddo ever (well, besides mine that is). I agree with you that love is love, and why not! The more of it in the world, the better off we will be!!!

  10. Roxanne says:

    I thought it was pretty funny (not scream-out-loud funny, but coincidental and cute funny) that this was the title of my last entry, too. We must be the only two in Blog World.

Leave a Reply

